7 Seven Riti Rituals of Hindu Marriages

Likewise seven promises or Saat Vachans, there are also several other important aspects of a Hindu marriage ceremony. called Saat Riti – Seven Rituals, These include:

  1. The exchange of vows and rings
  2. The tying of the Mangalsutra, a sacred necklace that symbolizes the couple’s bond
  3. The lighting of the sacred fire (havan), symbolizes the couple’s commitment to each other and to their families
  4. The exchange of garlands between the bride and groom
  5. The seven steps around the fire, also known as the “Saat Pheras,” symbolize the seven promises made by the couple to each other
  6. The blessings of the elders and the couple’s families
  7. The distribution of prasad, or holy food, which symbolizes the couple’s first meal as husband and wife
  8. Sindoor and Mangalsutra, the Sindoor is a red powder applied on the forehead of the bride by the groom, signifies that the bride is married and Mangalsutra is a sacred necklace worn by the bride, symbolizes the bond between the couple.

All of these elements come together to create a beautiful and meaningful ceremony that celebrates the love and commitment of the couple, as well as the support and blessings of their families and community.

Leave a Comment